Heartland CD/DH Support Group,
a branch of the GIG



GIG Programs:
- GF Products
- GF Restaurants
- GF Food Service
- GF Recipes

Gluten-Free Diet

The Gluten-Free (GF) Diet: The GF diet is the prescribed medical treatment for gluten intolerance diseases such as celiac disease (CD) and dermatitis herpetiformis (DH). An immune system response to eating gluten (storage proteins gliadin and prolamine) results in damage to the small intestine of people with gluten intolerance. The GF diet is a life long commitment and should not be started before being properly diagnosed with CD/DH. Starting the diet without complete testing is not recommended and makes diagnosis later more difficult. Tests to confirm CD could be negative if a person were on the GF diet for very long. A valid test would require reintroducing gluten (a gluten challenge) before testing. Celiac disease is an inherited autoimmune disease and confirmation of CD will help future generations be aware of the risk of CD within the family.

Dietitians developed the following dietary guidelines, for the Gluten Intolerance Group® and Celiac Disease Foundation. These are in agreement with the Gluten Free Diet guidelines published by the American Dietetic Association, October 2000. The American Dietetic Association Guidelines were written through a cooperative effort of dietitian experts in celiac disease in Canada and the United States.

The following grains & starches are allowed:

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Soy
  • Potato
  • Tapioca
  • Beans
  • Garfava
  • Sorghum
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Buckwheat
  • Arrowroot
  • Amaranth
  • Tef
  • Montina®
  • Nut Flours

The following grains contain gluten and are not allowed:

  • Wheat (durum, semolina, kamut, spelt)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale

The following ingredients should not be consumed. They are derived from prohibited grains:

  • Barley
  • Malt or malt flavoring (can be made from barley)
  • Malt vinegar (made from barley)
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Wheat (durum, graham, semolina, kamut, spelt)

Additional components frequently overlooked that often contain gluten:

  • Breading, Coating mixes, Panko
  • Broth, Soup bases
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candy – ex: Licorice, some Chocolates
  • Croutons
  • Flour or cereal products
  • Imitation bacon
  • Imitation seafood
  • Marinades
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Sauces, Gravies
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soy sauce or soy sauce solids
  • Stuffing, Dressing
  • Thickeners (Roux)
  • Communion wafers
  • Herbal supplements
  • Drugs & Over-the-Counter Medications
  • Nutritional Supplements Vitamins & Mineral Supplements
  • Playdough: A potential problem if hands are put on or in the mouth while playing with playdough or are not washed after us

Can I Use Oats?

Recent research shows that pure, uncontaminated oats used in moderation (1 cup cooked per day) are safe for most persons with celiac disease. Consult your dietitian or physician if you want to include oats in your diet.


© 2008 Gluten Intolerance Group® of North America. All rights reserved.